UPDATE: Mark Curnutte's blog indicates we could hear about any penalty or fines handed down to Geathers' by Friday.
Result of block-in-the-back on Geathers
(click on picture for full size)
(credit goes to Ravonaf at Go-Bengals)
You know what I think. What are your thoughts?
Chris Mortenson (ESPN Insider) shares his perspective.
A review of the game tape and the actual rule appear to have cleared Geathers from wrongdoing.
The various angles do confirm that Geathers was being blocked in the back by Chiefs receiver Eddie Kennison and the contact forced him in a downward momentum into Green.
Even without being pushed, Geathers may have gotten a pass. The quarterback protection rule on a scramble does not go into effect until the quarterback is down -- not when he starts his slide, as many have said. (Also noted is that Green already had run for a couple of first downs.)