clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Football Hall of Fame announces semifinalists for 2010 class.

On September 19, 2009, the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced their preliminary nominations for their 2010 class. Of the 131 nominations, four players that spent some time with Cincinnati made the list: Ken Anderson, Boomer Esiason, Max Montoya and Clyde Simmons. The biggest travesty is still that Ken Riley isn't even considered. Riley's 65 career interceptions ranks fifth all-time; more than Hall of Famers Ronnie Lott, Emmitt Thomas and Mel Blount. Furthermore, when Riley retired, his 65 career picks ranked fourth all-time behind Dick Lane, Emlen Tunnell and Paul Krause -- all Hall of Famers.

Still he wasn't even considered as one of the 131 nominations.

On Saturday afternoon, the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced their 25 semifinalists for their 2010 class with names like Jerry Rice, Emmitt Smith and Paul Tagliabue.

This time, no Bengals players made the cut.