clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NFL Releases Updated Pro Bowl Results: Movie Star Michael Oher Holding Onto Lead For AFC Tackles

New, comments
ATLANTA, GA - SEPTEMBER 01: Michael Oher #74 of the Baltimore Ravens watches from the bench against the Atlanta Falcons at Georgia Dome on September 1, 2011 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)
Getty Images

Two weeks ago the Cincinnati Bengals, ranked sixth in the AFC and vying for the conference's second wild card spot, which could improve to the first wild card spot after this Sunday, didn't feature any top vote-getters when the league released the updated Pro Bowl votes.

Granted the only player that had a realistic shot of winning the vote was offensive tackle Andrew Whitworth. However, for some reason, a movie about Michael Oher pushed him as the top vote-getter even though last year, a year after the movie was released, Oher never benefited from the movie with Whitworth winning the overall vote.

Then again perhaps that's a good thing. After winning the fan vote last year, Whitworth was completely shutout of the all-star game. That being said the league released their updated Pro Bowl numbers on Thursday and the Bengals are still without an impressionable showing.

Top Vote-Getter

Position Player Team Votes
QB Aaron Rodgers Packers


QB Tom Brady Patriots 873,424
WR Calvin Johnson Lions 743,335
WR Wes Welker Patriots 684,591
RB Adrian Peterson Vikings 680,428
QB Drew Brees Saints 655,655
WR Greg Jennings Packers 602,323
WR Mike Wallace Steelers 575,821
QB Ben Roethlisberger Steelers 565,378
RB Matt Forte Bears 563,441

AFC Top Vote-Getter by position:

QB Tom Brady 873,424 DE Dwight Freeney 307,312
RB Arian Foster 520,528 DT Haloti Ngata 367,511
FB Jacob Hester 102,563 OLB Terrell Suggs 311,875
WR Wes Welker 684,591 ILB Ray Lewis 286,539
TE Rob Gronkowski 558,294 CB Darrelle Revis 375,261
T Michael Oher 191,660 SS Troy Polamalu 146,989
G Logan Mankins 212,276 FS Ed Reed 126,436
C Maurkice Pouncey 228,297 P Shane Lechler 141,171
K Sebastian Janikowski 148,072 ST Brendon Ayanbadejo 64,139
KR Joe McKnight 91,175

NFC Top Vote-Getter by position:

QB Aaron Rodgers 961,818 DE Jared Allen 488,239
RB Adrian Peterson 680,428 DT Ndamukong Suh 387,699
FB John Kuhn 189,046 OLB DeMarcus Ware 356,194
WR Calvin Johnson 743,335 ILB Patrick Willis 257,776
TE Jimmy Graham 434,436 CB Charles Woodson 467,472
T Chad Clifton 244,037 SS Charlie Peprah 88,409
G T.J. Lang 197,247 FS Morgan Burnett 151,085
C Scott Wells 266,549 P Andy Lee 102,280
K Mason Crosby 123,534 ST Jarrett Bush 82,522
KR Devin Hester 176,425