clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Mike Nugent Named As Bengals Recipient Of The Ed Block Courage Award

New, comments

Ed Block was a former head athletic training of the Baltimore Colts from 1954-1977 who is often remembered for significant contributions to helping improving the lives of children, standing for "courage and championed the cause of those who displayed that characteristic."

Every year the foundation awards the Ed Block Courage Award to NFL Players, voted on by their teammates that's "dedicated to improving the lives of neglected children and ending the cycle of abuse. The purpose is to raise Awareness and Prevention of child abuse. That objective is coupled with the Foundation's commitment to celebrating players of inspiration in the NFL."

This year, the Bengals recipient is Mike Nugent.

From the Bengals press release:

The Bengals have named kicker Mike Nugent as the recipient of this year’s Ed Block Courage Award.

The award honors players who demonstrate commitment to the values of sportsmanship and courage. Each NFL team selects one player as its nominee. Nugent will be honored with other teams’ recipients at the annual awards banquet in Baltimore after the 2011 season.

Mike Nugent tore his anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) during the 2010 season, having to go on injured-reserve. Per Paul Sparling, the teams Head Athletic Trainer, "Mike showed focus and tenacity as he rehabilitated his knee following his torn anterior cruciate injury on his kicking leg from 2010." To complicate matters further, the NFL lockout prevented Nugent from working with team doctors and trainers, and had to finish his rehabilitation on his own. Despite this he has bounced back to have a stellar season with the Cincinnati Bengals and looks to have a bright future with the organization.

Previous nominations of he Ed Block Courage Award from Cincinnati:

2011 Mike Nugent
2010 Cedric Benson
2009 Bobbie Williams
2008 Rashard Jeanty
2007 Reggie Kelly
2006 Carson Palmer
2005 Rashad Bauman
2004 Willie Anderson
2003 Glen Steele
2002 Richmond Webb
2001 Rich Braham
2000 John Jackson
1999 Tom Tumulty
1998 Ki-Jana Carter
1997 Scott Brumfield
1996 James Francis
1995 David Klingler
1994 Ricardo McDonald
1993 Bruce Kozerski
1992 Kevin Walker
1991 Bruce Reimers
1990 Joe Walter
1989 Boomer Esiason
1988 Eddie Edwards
1987 Rodney A. Holman
1986 Dave Rimingon
1985 Tim Krumrie
1984 Brian Pillman