clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

For the Bengals There's Always Next Year: 2011 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class Announced

The Board of Selectors, a 44-person committee of mostly sportswriters, spent over seven hours on Saturday debating the 2011 Pro Football Hall of Fame class. Afterwards, the announcements were made. Running back Marshall Faulk, Cornerback Deion Sanders, NFL Films founder Ed Sabol, Defensive End Richard Dent, Tight End Shannon Sharp and senior picks Chris Hanburger and Lee Richter, both linebackers.

Candidates that didn't make it this year include Wide Receivers Cris Carter, Andre Reed and Tim Brown. Running backs Curtis Martin and Jerome Bettis, along with defensive ends Charles Haley and Chris Doleman will have to wait another year. Defensive end Cortez Kennedy and offensive tackle Willie Roaf.

Anytime Hall of Fame announcements are made, it's a reminder that through 42 years of Cincinnati Bengals football, Anthony Munoz is the only Bengals player enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Former Bengals like Lemar Parrish, Ken Riley, Ken Anderson and Boomer Esiason (let's throw in four-time Pro Bowler Max Montoya while we're at it) weren't finalists during a loaded group of candidates.

There's always next year.