clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Official List Of Bengals Free Agents

The NFL released the list of free agents Monday afternoon. No franchise tags, no transition tags for the Bengals. Cincinnati can start negotiating contracts with free agents starting at 10 a.m. ET on Tuesday. Starting at 6 p.m. on Friday ET, teams may extend offer sheets to another team's restricted free agent or, for the general sake of the topic, sign players to contracts (their own, restricted, unrestricted, etc..)

A quick understanding about restricted free agents. Players with three years of experience without a signed contracted are considered a restricted free agent. This means he's free to negotiate with other teams, however if he signs an offer sheet, the original team is allowed the right to refuse, provided that they match the offer. If the original team decides to let that player go, the original team is compensated based on the qualifying offer.

The Bengals sent qualifying offers to four players. They are, with compensation, listed below.

Player Position Compensation
Kyle Cook C 2nd Round
Jordan Palmer QB 6th Round
Nate Livings G ROFR*
Dennis Roland T ROFR*
ROFR is a generic application in this instance in which the original team wouldn't be compensated.

Marvin White was the Bengals only qualified restricted free agent that didn't receive a qualifying offer so he'll become an unrestricted free agent.

The following is the official list of unrestricted free agents that played for the Cincinnati Bengals in 2010.

Player Position
Cedric Benson RB
Kirk Chambers T
Jonathan Fanene DE
Brandon Johnson LB
Dhani Jones LB
Johnathan Joseph DB
Reggie Kelly TE
Brian Leonard RB
Evan Mathis G
Chinedum Ndukwe DB
Terrell Owens WR
Keiwan Ratliff DB
Roy Williams DB
Gibril Wilson DB