clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Comparison To The 2011 Bengals: 15 Players From The 2010 Roster Are Gone

Getty Images

Bengals head coach Marvin Lewis said it on Sunday:

“I know we’ll be a better team than the 4-12 team,” Lewis said when asked at a Paul Brown Stadium news conference if this is a better team. “There’s not the star power on paper that maybe we possessed last year. But when it comes down to it, as our guys are calling it 'we’ll be all in together' and that’s the best statement we can make heading into the regular season.”

There is absolutely no doubt about the changes this team has faced, compared to one year ago. There were 15 players that made the Bengals 2010 NFL roster that are no longer associated with the team (or pouting about being traded). Two players from that year have joined the practice squad this year and four players on last year's squad are excluded off this year's roster due to injury or suspension.

Now the 2011 Bengals 53-man roster is still one shy of being fulfilled after tight end Mickey Shuler failed his physical on Monday. That being said, here's a comparative look at the two rosters, separated by a calendar year.

  2010 2011
Quarterback Carson Palmer Andy Dalton
  Jordan Palmer Bruce Gradkowski
  Dan LeFevour  
Running Back Cedric Benson Cedric Benson
  Bernard Scott Bernard Scott
  Brian Leonard Brian Leonard
  Cedric Peerman Cedric Peerman
Fullback   Chris Pressley
Wide Receiver Chad Ochocinco A.J. Green
  Terrell Owens Jerome Simpson
  Jordan Shipley Jordan Shipley
  Andre Caldwell Andre Caldwell
  Quan Cosby Ryan Whalen
  Jerome Simpson Brandon Tate
Tight End Jermaine Gresham Jermaine Gresham
  Reggie Kelly Colin Cochart
  Dan Coats  
Offensive Line Andrew Whitworth Andrew Whitworth
  Bobbie Williams Andre Smith
  Andre Smith Kyle Cook
  Kyle Cook Nate Livings
  Nate Livings Otis Hudson
  Anthony Collins Clint Boling
  Dennis Roland Anthony Collins
  Evan Mathis Dennis Roland
  Reggie Stephens Mike McGlynn
Defensive End Antwan Odom Michael Johnson
  Robert Geathers Robert Geathers
  Jonathan Fanene Jonathan Fanene
  Carlos Dunlap Carlos Dunlap
  Frostee Rucker Frostee Rucker
Defensive Tackle Domata Peko Domata Peko
  Tank Johnson Pat Sims
  Pat Sims Geno Atkins
  Geno Atkins  
Linebackers Dhani Jones Rey Maualuga
  Rey Maualuga Manny Lawson
  Keith Rivers Thomas Howard
  Brandon Johnson Brandon Johnson
  Michael Johnson Dontay Moch
  Roddrick Muckelroy Dan Skuta
  Dan Skuta Vincent Rey
Cornerbacks Leon Hall Leon Hall
  Johnathan Joseph Nate Clements
  Morgan Trent Morgan Trent
  Adam Jones Kelly Jennings
  Brandon Ghee  
Safety Chris Crocker Chris Crocker
  Reggie Nelson Reggie Nelson
  Roy Williams Robert Sands
  Chinedum Ndukwe Gibril Wilson
    Taylor Mays
    Jeromy Miles