clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bengals Name Leon Hall As This Year's Recipient Of The Ed Block Courage Award

The Cincinnati Bengals named Leon Hall as this year's recipient of an award that demonstrates commitment to the values of sportsmanship and courage.

Grant Halverson

Ed Block was a former head athletic training of the Baltimore Colts from 1954-1977 who is often remembered for significant contributions to helping improving the lives of children, standing for "courage and championed the cause of those who displayed that characteristic."

Every year the foundation awards the Ed Block Courage Award to NFL Players, voted on by their teammates that's "dedicated to improving the lives of neglected children and ending the cycle of abuse. The purpose is to raise Awareness and Prevention of child abuse. That objective is coupled with the Foundation's commitment to celebrating players of inspiration in the NFL."

The Cincinnati Bengals named cornerback Leon Hall as this year's recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award.

Bengals head athletic trainer Paul Sparling said:

...Hall’s intense rehabilitation efforts sped his recovery so much that he “far surpassed that initial timeline,” Sparling said, enabling him to fully participate in practice on the first day of training camp – less than nine months removed from the injury. He was in Cincinnati's starting lineup on opening day of this season.

“Leon approached the rehabilitation from his Achilles tendon injury last season with determination to beat the odds and return to play by the start of the season,” Sparling said. “He put forth the effort, time and energy in his recovery and rehabilitation to give himself the best chance to do just that.

“He set a great example of what it takes to be able to overcome a challenge, which was recognized by his teammates in being selected to represent the club for this award.”

2012 Leon Hall
2011 Mike Nugent
2010 Cedric Benson
2009 Bobbie Williams
2008 Rashard Jeanty
2007 Reggie Kelly
2006 Carson Palmer
2005 Rashad Bauman
2004 Willie Anderson
2003 Glen Steele
2002 Richmond Webb
2001 Rich Braham
2000 John Jackson
1999 Tom Tumulty
1998 Ki-Jana Carter
1997 Scott Brumfield
1996 James Francis
1995 David Klingler
1994 Ricardo McDonald
1993 Bruce Kozerski
1992 Kevin Walker
1991 Bruce Reimers
1990 Joe Walter
1989 Boomer Esiason
1988 Eddie Edwards
1987 Rodney A. Holman
1986 Dave Rimingon
1985 Tim Krumrie
1984 Brian Pillman