clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL AP All-Pro Team: Geno Atkins And A.J. Green Make The All-Pro Team

Two Bengals players made the NFL AP All-Pro team, continuing a tour of tremendous praise for two players becoming the face of the franchise.

John Grieshop

Experts have inundated defensive tackle Geno Atkins and wide receiver A.J. Green with constant praise, not only declaring their performances in 2012 as great, but often suggesting that both players are the future of their respective positions. Geno Atkins is setting franchise records with the promise of redefining the position and A.J. Green has proven capable to question the laws of physics.

On Saturday both players made the Associated Press All-Pro Team.

Atkins earned 42 votes of a possible 50 votes, giving him the most among the league's defensive tackles with Vince Wilfork (also on the first-team) 27 and Ndamukong Suh (5) and Haloti Ngata (5) making the second-team.

A.J. Green made the second-team at wide receiver (16.5) with Calvin Johnson (49) and Brandon Marshall (23) taking the most first-team votes.

The AP All-Pro Team is an annual selection of players in the NFL, selected by a panel of 50 national media members with the Associated Press since the early 1920s. It's the most widely accepted and cited All-Pro team today.

First Team


Quarterback - Peyton Manning, Denver.
Running Backs - Adrian Peterson, Minnesota; Marshawn Lynch, Seattle.
Fullback - Vonta Leach, Baltimore.
Tight End - Tony Gonzalez, Atlanta.
Wide Receivers - Calvin Johnson, Detroit; Brandon Marshall, Chicago.
Tackles - Duane Brown, Houston; Ryan Clady, Denver.
Guards - Mike Iupati, San Francisco; Jahri Evans, New Orleans.
Center - Max Unger, Seattle.
Placekicker - Blair Walsh, Minnesota.
Kick Returner - Jacoby Jones, Baltimore.

Ends - J.J. Watt, Houston; Cameron Wake, Miami.
Tackles - Geno Atkins, Cincinnati; Vince Wilfork, New England.
Outside Linebackers - Von Miller, Denver; Aldon Smith, San Francisco.
Inside Linebackers - Patrick Willis, San Francisco; NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco.
Cornerbacks - Richard Sherman, Seattle; Charles Tillman, Chicago.
Safeties - Earl Thomas, Seattle; Dashon Goldson, San Francisco.
Punter - Andy Lee, San Francisco


Quarterback - Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay.
Running Backs - Alfred Morris Washington; Jamaal Charles, Kansas City.
Fullback - Jerome Felton, Minnesota.
Tight End - Jason Witten, Dallas.
Wide Receivers - A.J. Green, Cincinnati; Andre Johnson, Houston.
Tackles - Joe Thomas, Cleveland; Joe Staley, San Francisco.
Guards - Marshal Yanda, Baltimore; Logan Mankins, New England.
Center - Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh.
Placekicker - Phil Dawson, Cleveland.
Kick Returner - David Wilson, New York Giants


Ends - Justin Smith, San Francisco; Julius Peppers, Chicago.
Tackles - Justin Smith, San Francisco; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit, and Haloti Ngata, Baltimore.
Outside Linebackers - Chad Greenway, Minnesota; Ahmad Brooks, San Francisco,Clay Matthews, Green Bay, and DeMarcus Ware, Dallas.
Inside Linebackers - Daryl Washington, Arizona; London Fletcher, Washington.
Cornerbacks - Champ Bailey, Denver; Tim Jennings, Chicago.
Safeties - Eric Weddle, San Diego; Jairus Byrd, Buffalo.
Punter - Thomas Morstead, New Orleans