clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bengals Announce Uniform Numbers For Five Players

On Tuesday, the Bengals took care of a few housekeeping details, announcing new uniform numbers for five players.

Nick Laham

Amidst the hustle and bustle (or lack thereof) of the offseason, every once in a while teams must set aside a little time to take care of a few housekeeping details. On Tuesday, the Bengals announced that five players had been assigned new uniform numbers heading into the 2013 season.

Quarterback Josh Johnson, who signed with the Bengals as an unrestricted free agent on March 23, will wear uniform No. 8. Johnson last spent time with Cleveland.

Taveon Rogers, who spent last season on the Reserve/Injured list (shoulder), has changed from No. 39 to No. 83. Rogers was switched from CB to WR following the 2012 season.

Rounding out the list of numbers are linebackers Brandon Joiner (No. 49) and Aaron Maybin (No. 51), along with fullback Jourdan Brooks (No. 35).

Johnson will continue to sport the No. 8 jersey, the same number he wore in Cleveland with the Browns. Similarly, Maybin will also be wearing the same number that he wore while with the Jets. Joiner and Brooks, on the other hand, are taking the opportunity to switch their numbers after previously wearing Nos. 59 and 32, respectively.

Only Rogers was forced to change his number due to the strict NFL rules on uniform numbers. Because he changed positions, going from cornerback to wide receiver, Rogers had to adopt a new number that reflects his new position. No. 39 is an illegal number for a wide out.