clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame: Time, TV Coverage, Enshrinees

The NFL will introduce the 2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame class on Saturday.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

WHEN: August 3, 2013
TIME: 7 p.m. (ET)

Both ESPN2 and the NFL Network will have live coverage of the event, which gets underway at 7 p.m. ET. ESPN2 will have the bulk of their top football crew on hand to handle the event, with Trey Wingo, Tom Jackson and Sal Paolantonio handling TV duties. Chris Berman will also be there, but as the event's emcee, he will not be on the ESPN set.

NFL Network is providing blanket coverage of the entire weekend, including features on the inductees and a special recognizing the Hall of Fame's 50th anniversary. Rich Eisen will lead the NFL Network's weekend coverage, including hosting the network's coverage of the induction itself.


Bill Parcells: Parcells was named the New York Giants head coach in 1983, where he spent 11 seasons, winning two Super Bowl titles, accumulating 11 postseason wins, and amassing a record of 77-49-1. Parcells had stints with the Patriots ('93-'96), the New York Jets ('97-'99), and the Dallas Cowboys ('03-'06), reaching the Super Bowl once ('96 with the Patriots) but losing to the Green Bay Packers. His career 172 wins ranks 11th all-time.

Cris Carter: After being a finalist for five years ('08-'12), Carter will finally be enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame this weekend. He ranks in the top-ten all-time in receptions (4th), yards receiving (9th), and touchdowns (4th). The eight-time Pro Bowler and two-time first-team All-Pro averaged 99 receptions, 1,397 yards receiving, and 13 touchdowns from '94-'99.

Warren Sapp: A first-time ballot winner, Sapp is one of the best defensive tackles to play the game... and perhaps one of the most entertaining. The seven-time Pro Bowler and four-time first-team All-Pro spent most of his career in Tampa Bay, with a four-year stint in Oakland to finish his career. Sapp generated 96.5 quarterback sacks, four interceptions, 19 forced fumbles, and 12 recoveries over his career.

Larry Allen: One of the best offensive guards to play the game, Allen played for the Dallas Cowboys during the franchise's three championships during a four-year period, earning 11 Pro Bowls and six First-Team All-Pro rosters. "You didn’t sleep easy the night before, hoping you get to play against Larry Allen," Johns Madden said. "They knew it. There’s no pro football player that has a fear of another guy that plays on that level, but he was so doggone strong and there wasn’t much you could do against him."

Jonathan Ogden: One of the best offensive tackles when he played, Ogden was named to 11 Pro Bowls and four first-team All-Pro rosters. Helped Jamal Lewis become the fifth player in NFL history to rush for over 2,000 yards and selected to the NFL's All-Decade team of the 2000's.

Curly Cup: A former defensive tackle that spent 13 seasons in the NFL with the Kansas City Chiefs ('68-'74), Houston Oilers ('74-'80), and Detroit Lions ('80-'81). Cup was named to five Pro Bowl teams, the 1969 AFL All-Star Team, and the 1975 First-Team All-Pro squad. Though sacks weren't officially recorded until 1982, Cup has been credited with 68 sacks and 14 forced fumbles.

Dave Robinson: A former outside linebacker during the Green Bay Packers dynasty ('63-'72), Robinson was named to three Pro Bowls (winning the '67 Pro Bowl MVP),and part of the Packers three NFL Championships and two Super Bowls in the late 60s. Also named to the NFL's All-Decade team of the 1960s.