clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cincinnati Bengals March Madness Tournament

Who is the best current Bengal? Help us decide in our own bracket-style tournament.


The NCAA Tournament field is set, and March Madness is here again. As people are frantically filling out their brackets to try and project this year's Final Four and eventual NCAA Champion, we're going to do our own tournament composed of current Bengals players.

Here's how it's going to work:

1. 20 players from the current roster will be seeded based on their overall ability and impact on the team.

2. We'll match the seeds on an S-curve in the same way the NCAA tournament does.

3. 16 teams will receive first-round byes.

4. 4 teams will have play-in games

5. The winner of each play-in game will then face the No. 1 and 2 overall seeds.

Now, for how the players will be seeded, Josh Kirkendall and I collaborated on who our 20 best would be. Here is how our final list of players came out:

1. A.J. Green

2. Geno Atkins

3. Vontaze Burfict

4. Leon Hall

5. Andrew Whitworth

6. Andre Smith

7. Carlos Dunlap

8. Giovani Bernard

9. Marvin Jones

10. Reggie Nelson

11. Andy Dalton

12. Adam Jones

13. Terence Newman

14. Kevin Zeitler

15. Mohamed Sanu

16. Jermaine Gresham

17. Tyler Eifert

18. Domata Peko

19. Clint Boling

20. George Iloka

Just missed the cut:

Kyle Huber, BenJarvus Green-Ellis, Mike Pollak, Emmanuel Lamur


The next round order of business is the play-in games. That's where you guys come in. From here on out, you vote to decide who wins each matchup and advances deeper into the tournament.

Play-in Game 1: No. 20 George Iloka vs. No. 17 Tyler Eifert - Winner faces A.J. Green

Play-in Game 2: No. 19 Domata Peko vs. No. 18 Clint Boling - Winner faces Geno Atkins