clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Aaron Rodgers, DeMarco Murray, J.J. Watt earn Player of the Year Honors

Arguably the two best players in football, Aaron Rodgers and J.J. Watt were honored as such by the Pro Football Writers of America.

Thomas Campbell-USA TODAY Sports

Green Bay quarterback Aaron Rodgers was selected as the 2014 NFL Most Valuable Player, chosen in voting conducted by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA).

Rodgers became the 40th MVP honored by the PFWA, and this was his second MVP award after earning it in 2011. Rodgers is the seventh player in NFL history to earn two or more MVP honors by the PFWA, joining Tom Brady, Earl Campbell, Marshall Faulk, Brett Favre, Peyton Manning and Steve Young.

In helping lead the Packers to a 12-4 mark, Rodgers started all 16 games in 2014 and completed 340 of 520 passes (65.6 completion percentage) for 4,381 yards, 38 touchdowns and a 112.2 passer rating with a career-low five interceptions.

Also earning awards were Dallas Cowboys running back DeMarco Murray and Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt. Murray, who led the league in rushing yards with 1,845, was selected as the 2014 Offensive Player of the Year. Watt, who had 20.5 sacks and led the league in tackles for loss, quarterback hits and fumble recoveries, was named the 2014 Defensive Player of the Year.

Murray led the NFL and broke Emmitt Smith’s franchise record (1,773 in 1995) for rushing yards with 1,845 on a club-record 392 carries. He tied for the NFL lead with 13 touchdowns and averaged 115.3 yards per game. Murray had 12 100-yard rushing games, setting a Cowboys record, including an NFL-record of eight straight games of 100 yards or more to start a season. His 2,261 yards from scrimmage led the NFL and were the most in franchise history.

Watt registered 78 total tackles and 20.5 sacks. He led the NFL with 50 quarterback hits, 29 tackles for loss and five fumble recoveries. He ranked second in the league in sacks, tied for second in defensive touchdowns (two) and tied for third in forced fumbles (four). This is the second PFWA Defensive Player of the Year award for Watt, who was also selected in 2012.