clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cowboys' Jerry Jones, Cardinals' Todd Bowles and Bruce Arians honored by PFWA

Joe Nicholson-USA TODAY Sports

Arizona Cardinals head coach  Bruce Arians has been selected as the 2014 NFL Coach of the Year by the Professional Football Writers of America. This is the third PFWA award for Arians after winning the Coach and Assistant Coach of the Year in 2012 for leading the Colts to the playoffs as interim head coach, while Chuck Pagano battled leukemia.

Arians led the Cardinals to a 11-5 record and the club's first NFC playoff berth since 2009, despite not having a QB with 2,000 passing yards, a wide receiver with 900 receiving yards or a running back with 700 rushing yards. The Cardinals tied the club record for victories, despite dealing with injuries to star players Carson Palmer, Darnell Dockett, Darnell Washington (suspension), Andre Ellington and even second-string QB Drew Stanton.

Dallas cowboys owner/president/general manager Jerry Jones was selected as the 2014 NFL Executive of the Year. Jones helped the Cowboys win their first NFC East division title since 2009. After three straight years of 8-8 records, the Cowboys finally broke through in 2014 to capture the club's first division title since 2009.

Former Arizona defensive coordinator Todd Bowles, who led the Cardinals defense to success despite injuries to key members of his corps, was selected as the 2014 NFL Assistant Coach of the Year. In his second season in Arizona, Bowles' defensive unit finished fifth in the NFL in points allowed per game at 18.7, tied for second in first downs allowed per game at 18.8 and third in red zone percentage at 43.9 percent.

Bowles has since been hired as the New York Jets head coach on January 14 after serving two seasons as the Cardinals' defensive coordinator.