clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

50 days until Bengals' regular-season opener

This year, AJ Hawk will wear the No. 50 after wearing it for nine seasons in Green Bay.

We're now sitting at just 50 more days until the Bengals are playing regular-season football.

That also means it's time for a look at former players who wore the No. 50 during their careers in the Queen City:

Bernard Erickson 1968
Tom DeLeone 1972-73
Vic Koegel 1974
Glenn Cameron 1975-85
Dave Rimington (52, 64) 1986-87
James Francis 1990-98
Ben Peterson 1999
Riall Johnson 2001-03
Larry Moore 2004-05
Jim Maxwell (58) 2007*
Eric Henderson 2007-08*
J.K. Schaffer 2013
AJ Hawk 2015

The First

Glenn Cameron would not only become the first Bengal to wear No. 50 for more than two seasons, but ended up becoming the longest-tenured player with it. Drafted out of Florida in the first round (14th overall) of the 1975 NFL Draft, Cameron went on to play in 159 career games (102 starts) at linebacker across 11 seasons with the Bengals.

The Best

Though Campbell wore it the longest, James Francis is probably the best Bengal to ever wear the No. 50 in Cincinnati. Drafted out of Baylor in the first round (12th overall) of the 1990 draft, Francis would play in 133 games (129 starts) at linebacker through nine years in Cincinnati. Francis also finished his career second on the Bengals' all-time tackles list with 508 stops. His 33 career sacks are the seventh-most all-time in Bengals history. Francis' 11 forced fumbles are also the second-most in franchise history.


As for the current Bengals, A.J. Hawk will wear the No. 50 after wearing it for nine seasons in Green Bay, where he became the Packers' second all-time leader in tackles with 628 career stops (his 298 career assisted tackles are No. 1 in Packers history). Hawk will now work mainly at middle linebacker behind starter Rey Maualuga while also getting some run at the outside backer spots.

*NOTE: Maxwell and Henderson both were assigned uniform No. 50 for Games 12-16 of 2007. At the time, however, only Maxwell was on the active roster. Henderson was on the Reserve/Injured list.