clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

46 days until Bengals' regular-season opener

When it comes to the No. 46 in Cincinnati, it's Pete Johnson and everyone else.

We're now just 46 days away from the Bengals playing regular-season football.

That means it's time for a look back at former players who wore the No. 46 during their NFL careers in Cincinnati.

Joe Wilson 1973
Pete Johnson 1977-83
Dan Rice 1987
Clif Groce 
Blue Adams 2007
Daniel Coats 2008
Clark Harris 2009-15

The First

Few Bengals have worn No. 46 during a regular-season game, but the first to do it was running back Joe Wilson. Drafted out of Holy Cross in the eighth round (199th overall) of the 1973 NFL Draft, Wilson played just one year in Cincinnati while rushing for 39 yards on 10 carries.

The Greatest

The second man to don 46 in Cincinnati would become the greatest to ever wear it -- Pete Johnson. Drafted out of Ohio State in the second round (49th overall) of the 1977 draft, Johnson would go on to become one of the greatest backs to ever play in Cincinnati. He was the team's leading rusher for all seven seasons he played in Cincinnati and scored 12+ rushing touchdowns in three different seasons.

Johnson's best season was in 1981, when he made his only Pro Bowl appearance while setting career highs in rushing (1,077 yards), receptions (46), receiving yards (320) and touchdowns(16), leading the team to a 12-4 record and a berth in the Super Bowl. To this day, Johnson ranks No. 4 in rushing yards and No. 1 in rushing scores in Bengals franchise history.

In 1984, Johnson was traded to the San Diego Chargers in exchange for running back James Brooks. At the time, Johnson left Cincinnati as their all-time leader in rushing yards (5,421), overall touchdowns (70), and their second all-time leading scorer with 420 points.


As for today's Bengals, long-snapper Clark Harris has been wearing the No. 46 since the 2009 season after replacing Brad St. Louis. So long as Harris keeps from having a total meltdown (ala St. Louis), he'll continue to be the Bengals' full-time long-snapper going forward.