clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

39 days until Bengals' regular-season opener

James Johnson is the most recent Bengal to wear the No. 39.

We're now less than 40 days away from Bengals regular-season football being back.

With that said, here's a look at former NFL players who wore the No. 39 during their careers in Cincinnati.

Pat Franklin 1987
Sheldon White 1993
Sedrick Shaw 1999
James Johnson 2008
Onterio McCalebb 2014

You could make a good argument for the No. 39 having the thinnest history of any number in Cincinnati. After all, no Bengal has ever wore it for more than one season, though James Johnson was on the Bengals practice squad in 2008 and 2009, and got some time on the 53-man roster in 2008.

The First

The first Bengal to wear the No. 39 would be running back Pat Franklin. Drafted out of Houston in the seventh round (177th overall) of the 1986 NFL Draft, Franklin would play in two games (0 starts) with the Bengals before being cut and later signed by Tampa Bay. Franklin played in eight games (1 start) while running the ball seven times for 29 yards and one score with the Bucs.

The Longest-Tenured

Defensive back Sheldon White would end up having the longest career of any former Bengal to wear the No. 39, though most of his experience was with the Giants and Lions. He played just one year in Cincinnati in 1993. White would play in 72 career games (7 starts) across six NFL seasons while grabbing 11 career interceptions, two of which came with the Bengals.


Last season, when he played cornerback, Onterio McCalebb wore number 39. Though he spent the majority of the year on the practice squad, he did play in the Bengals' Week 7 matchup with the Colts. Now, McCalebb has switched to play wide receiver and in doing so, is now wearing #86.

For now, no one is wearing the No. 39 for the 2015 Bengals.