clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Andy Dalton among 6 Bengals captains for 2015 NFL season

The Bengals are going with mostly the same group of captains as they had in 2014.

Aaron Doster-USA TODAY Sports

The Cincinnati Bengals announced their six team captains for the 2015 NFL season on Thursday.

On offense, fifth-year quarterback Andy Dalton and 10th-year offensive tackle Andrew Whitworth got the nods. On defense, 10th-year defensive tackle Domata Peko and ninth-year safety Reggie Nelson were the two picks. Seventh-year running back Cedric Peerman and sixth-year linebacker Vincent Rey were named special teams co-captains.

In all, that's 47 combined seasons of NFL experience between those six players. Ironically, three of those players will become free agents next year. Whitworth, Nelson and Rey are currently set to hit free agency next March if they don't sign extensions before then. That didn't deter the Bengals from naming them captains in what may be their final seasons in stripes.

Five of those six players were captains in 2014. Whitworth and Dalton captained the offense while Peko and first-time captain Vontaze Burfict got the defensive honors. Peerman and Rey were the special teams captains as well.