clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cedric Peerman added to 2016 Pro Bowl roster

This will be Peerman's first appearance in the Pro Bowl

Joshua Lindsey-USA TODAY Sports

Cedric Peerman may have been snubbed in the original Pro Bowl roster selection, but it turns out he's headed to Hawaii after all.

Cincinnati will be well represented in the 2016 NFL Pro Bowl, taking place this Sunday night. With Peerman now on board and Adam Jones being added to the roster yesterday, the Bengals have eight Pro Bowlers. Geno Atkins, Carlos Dunlap, Tyler Eifert, A.J. Green, Reggie Nelson and Andrew Whitworth are all also playing in the game. Atkins is even a captain.

Only the 1988 team (9) boasted more Pro Bowlers than this season's crew. Andy Dalton, a first alternate at quarterback, would've appeared in this season's Pro Bowl if he was medically cleared to play, but unfortunately, he won't be making the trip.

This will be Peerman's first Pro Bowl appearance in his six-year career and the first time the Bengals send a special teamer (other than a punter or kicker) to the Pro Bowl.

Peerman will return home with more good news on the way: his wife is due to deliver the couple's first baby--a boy--the day before the Super Bowl.

Appearing in all 18 games this season, Peerman was a difference-maker on special teams. He racked up a team-high 17 special teams tackles (13 solo tackles) and downed several key punts. He's quietly established himself as one of football's top gunners and one of the Bengals' most inspirational locker room presences, leading the team in special teams tackles for two consecutive years.

Led by Peerman, the Bengals' special teams unit was dominant, ranking third in opponents' average start drive on kickoffs and second on punts.

Peerman replaces Matthew Slater of the Patriots who won't be playing due to lingering injuries.

The Pro Bowl will be played this Sunday, January 31, at 7:00 p.m. EST at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu. It will be televised live on ESPN. The Pro Bowl Draft will be on Wednesday, January 27, at 7:30 p.m. on ESPN2.