clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

3 Bengals among top 5 at their position in fan Pro Bowl voting

Do you think more Bengals deserve Pro Bowl recognition this year?

Miami Dolphins v Cincinnati Bengals Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images

The first update on the status of Pro Bowl voting has been released and three Bengals are among the top five vote getters at their respective positions.

Unsurprisingly, those players are wide receiver A.J. Green, left tackle Andrew Whitworth and defensive tackle Geno Atkins. Green and Whitworth both rank fifth at their positions and Atkins comes in at fourth.

Only eight teams have more than three players among the top five vote getters across all position groups. The Cowboys have the most players in the top 5 at each position with 14. Oakland and Seattle come in second with 10 players each. The Lions, Packers, Texans, Jaguars, and 49ers don't have a single player in the top five at any position.

88 players will eventually be eligible for the Pro Bowl, with fan voting counting as 13 of the decision, along with the player vote (13) and coach vote (13). Those 88 spots will be split as follows:

8 spots each: WR, CB

6 spots each: QB, RB, OT, OG, DE, DT, OLB, S

4 spots each: TE, OC, ILB

2 spots each: FB, P, K, Return Specialist, Long Snapper, Special teamer.

There aren’t too many Bengals who deserve Pro Bowl recognition this year, but it would be a complete shame for Carlos Dunlap to not be voted into the game after a great season from the defensive end. It would be surprising to see Vontaze Burfict voted in (due to how those around the league feel about him) but he’s certainly worthy of the recognition, too.

Here’s the current voting order for each position.

Name Team
Prescott, Dak Dallas Cowboys
Brady, Tom New England Patriots
Carr, Derek Oakland Raiders
Ryan, Matt Atlanta Falcons
Brees, Drew New Orleans Saints
Wide receivers
Brown, Antonio Pittsburgh Steelers
Jones, Julio Atlanta Falcons
Beckham, Odell New York Giants
Cooper, Amari Oakland Raiders
Green, A.J. Cincinnati Bengals
Frederick, Travis Dallas Cowboys
Pouncey, Maurkice Pittsburgh Steelers
Andrews, David New England Patriots
Hudson, Rodney Oakland Raiders
Mack, Alex Atlanta Falcons
Kuhn, John New Orleans Saints
Olawale, Jamize Oakland Raiders
Juszczyk, Kyle Baltimore Ravens
DiMarco, Patrick Atlanta Falcons
Tolbert, Mike Carolina Panthers
Sitton, Josh Chicago Bears
Martin, Zack Dallas Cowboys
Leary, Ronald Dallas Cowboys
Osemele, Kelechi Oakland Raiders
DeCastro, David Pittsburgh Steelers
Smith, Tyron Dallas Cowboys
Free, Doug Dallas Cowboys
Penn, Donald Oakland Raiders
Thomas, Joe Cleveland Browns
Whitworth, Andrew Cincinnati Bengals
Tight ends
Olsen, Greg Carolina Panthers
Graham, Jimmy Seattle Seahawks
Bennett, Martellus New England Patriots
Witten, Jason Dallas Cowboys
Reed, Jordan Washington Redskins
Running backs
Elliott, Ezekiel Dallas Cowboys
Johnson, David Arizona Cardinals
Murray, DeMarco Tennessee Titans
Bell, Le'Veon Pittsburgh Steelers
Gordon, Melvin San Diego Chargers
Sherman, Richard Seattle Seahawks
Peters, Marcus Kansas City Chiefs
Talib, Aqib Denver Broncos
Peterson, Patrick Arizona Cardinals
Norman, Josh Washington Redskins
Defensive ends
Mack, Khalil Oakland Raiders
Wake, Cameron Miami Dolphins
Avril, Cliff Seattle Seahawks
Bennett, Michael Seattle Seahawks
Williams, Leonard New York Jets
Defensive tackles
Suh, Ndamukong Miami Dolphins
Donald, Aaron Los Angeles Rams
Cox, Fletcher Philadelphia Eagles
Atkins, Geno Cincinnati Bengals
Joseph, Linval Minnesota Vikings
Free safety
Thomas, Earl Seattle Seahawks
Smith, Harrison Minnesota Vikings
Nelson, Reggie Oakland Raiders
Mathieu, Tyrann Arizona Cardinals
McLeod, Rodney Philadelphia Eagles
Strong safety
Chancellor, Kam Seattle Seahawks
Collins, Landon New York Giants
Berry, Eric Kansas City Chiefs
Church, Barry Dallas Cowboys
Ward, T.J. Denver Broncos
Inside linebackers
Kuechly, Luke Carolina Panthers
Wagner, Bobby Seattle Seahawks
Brown, Zach Buffalo Bills
Alexander, Kwon Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Brown, Preston Buffalo Bills
Outside linebackers
Miller, Von Denver Broncos
Lee, Sean Dallas Cowboys
Beasley, Vic Atlanta Falcons
Wright, K.J. Seattle Seahawks
Alexander, Lorenzo Buffalo Bills
King, Marquette Oakland Raiders
Allen, Ryan New England Patriots
McAfee, Pat Indianapolis Colts
Jones, Chris Dallas Cowboys
Ryan, Jon Seattle Seahawks
Bailey, Dan Dallas Cowboys
Tucker, Justin Baltimore Ravens
Vinatieri, Adam Indianapolis Colts
Gostkowski, Stephen New England Patriots
Janikowski, Sebastian Oakland Raiders
Return specialists
Brown, Antonio Pittsburgh Steelers
Lockett, Tyler Seattle Seahawks
Hester, Devin Baltimore Ravens
Tate, Brandon Buffalo Bills
Whitehead, Lucky Dallas Cowboys
Special teams
Patterson, Cordarrelle Minnesota Vikings
Alexander, Lorenzo Buffalo Bills
Heath, Jeff Dallas Cowboys
Slater, Matt New England Patriots
Bethel, Justin Arizona Cardinals

The top 10 vote-getters overall (in order) are Ezekiel Elliott, Dak Prescott, Tom Brady, Antonio Brown, Derek Carr, Matt Ryan, Julio Jones, Odell Beckham Jr., David Johnson and Drew Brees.

You can vote for the Pro Bowl online or on social media. Here’s how:

  • On Twitter, use #ProBowlVote with the player's first and last name. Twitter handles don’t count.
  • On Facebook, post a comment on the club's official Pro Bowl Vote post with #ProBowlVote and the player's first and last name.
  • On Instagram, post an image with #ProBowlVote and a caption with the player's #FirstNameLastName.