clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bengals Depth Chart: Brandon LaFell listed as starter, defensive line depth remains questionable

New, comments

The Cincinnati Bengals have announced their depth chart for the Week 1 matchup against the New York Jets. There are few surprises, though, the defensive line depth seems shaky behind the starters.

NFL: Preseason-Cincinnati Bengals at Detroit Lions Raj Mehta-USA TODAY Sports

The Bengals have announced their official Week 1 depth chart for Sunday’s matchup against the New York Jets.

There aren’t many surprises, though, the team has listed Brandon LaFell ahead of Tyler Boyd on the depth chart. That seems to be a fluid and prove-it situation though and we will see in Week 1 how the snaps are distributed. How well LaFell and Boyd play to start the season will likely shape the snap count and depth chart moving forward.

Missing from the depth chart is Vontaze Burfict who is currently suspended. Though, when he returns in Week 4, he will take over the starting WILL linebacker role.

On special teams, Adam Jones is listed as the No. 1 kick and punt returner. It will be interesting to see how accurate that proves to be though as his role on defense will surely be extensive as a starting cornerback and defensive captain. Will the Bengals want to risk using him on special teams with frequency? It likely depends on how confident they are in rookie Alex Erickson, the team’s No. 2 returner on the depth chart.

The defensive line depth is also a point of interest as behind the starters, there are many questions and much uncertainty. Only eight players are taking up defensive line roster spots and it’s unclear whether that will change before Sunday. Either way, if someone is signed prior to Sunday’s game, they likely would not play in Week 1.

Here is the Bengals’ official Week 1 depth chart:


WR 1: A.J. Green, James Wright, Cody Core

LOT: Andrew Whitworth, Jake Fisher

LG: Clint Boling, Trey Hopkins

C: Russell Bodine, T.J. Johnson

RG: Kevin Zeitler, Christian Westerman

ROT: Cedric Ogbuehi, Eric Winston

TE: Tyler Eifert, Tyler Kroft

HB/TE: Ryan Hewitt, C.J. Uzomah

WR 2: Brandon LaFell, Tyler Boyd, Alex Erickson

QB: Andy Dalton, AJ McCarron, Jeff Driskel

HB: Jeremy Hill, Giovani Bernard, Rex Burkhead


LDE: Carlos Dunlap, Margus Hunt

NT: Domata Peko, Pat Sims

DT: Geno Atkins, DeShawn Williams

RDE: Michael Johnson, Will Clarke

SLB: Karlos Dansby, Marquis Flowers

MLB: Rey Maualuga, Trevor Roach

WLB: Vincent Rey, Nick Vigil

LCB: Dre Kirkpatrick, Chris Lewis-Harris, Josh Shaw

RCB: Adam Jones, Darqueze Dennard, Chykie Brown

SS: Shawn Williams, Clayton Fejedelem

FS: George Iloka, Derron Smith

Special Teams:

P: Kevin Huber

K: Mike Nugent

LS: Clark Harris

H: Kevin Huber

PR: Adam Jones, Alex Erickson, Tyler Boyd

KOR: Adam Jones, Alex Erickson, Rex Burkhead