clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Green, Kirkpatrick honored by Cincinnati chapter of Pro Football Writers of America

This is surprisingly Green’s first PFWA MVP honor. It’s also Kirkpatrick’s first “Good Guy” win.

Baltimore Ravens v Cincinnati Bengals

Bengals wide receiver A.J. Green and cornerback Dre Kirkpatrick are being honored by the Cincinnati Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America.

Green was named the Bengals’ 2016 Most Valuable Player and Kirkpatrick is the recipient of the organization’s annual “Good Guy” award.

This marks the first PFWA MVP for Green in his six-year career and the selection was unanimous. It comes in a season during which Green played only nine games, but was off to the best start of a season he’s had since joining the Bengals in the first round of the 2011 NFL Draft.

This season, Green experienced the best stretch of his career, averaging 96.4 yards per game. His previous high was 89.1. He also added four touchdowns before a hamstring injury ended his season in the Bengals’ 10th game of the season against Buffalo.

Other past MVP winners have been QB Jon Kitna (2002-03), HB Rudi Johnson (’04), QB Carson Palmer (’05), OT Willie Anderson (’06), WR T.J. Houshmandzadeh (’07-08), CBs Leon Hall and Johnathan Joseph (’09), OT Andrew Whitworth (’10), QB Andy Dalton (’11 and ’15), DT Geno Atkins (’12), LB Vontaze Burfict (’13) and HB Jeremy Hill (’14).

Kirkpatrick, who just finished his his fifth year in the league, is the 16th recipient of the PFWA’s “Good Guy” award, given for professionalism and cooperation with media and understanding the media’s role in covering the team.

Past “Good Guy” winners have been FB Lorenzo Neal (2001), OT Willie Anderson (’02), HB Brandon Bennett (’03), LB Brian Simmons (’04), DT John Thornton (’05), WR T.J. Houshmandzadeh (’06), DT Bryan Robinson (’07), G Bobbie Williams (’08), QB Carson Palmer (’09), HB Cedric Benson (’10), S Chris Crocker (’11), OT Andrew Whitworth (’12 and ’15), DT Domata Peko (’13) and DT Devon Still (’14).

Congratulations to Green and Kirkpatrick on their honors.