clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

AP 2016 NFL All-Pro team includes no Bengals players

6-9-1 does not translate to having All-Pro recognition on your NFL roster.

New Orleans Saints v Atlanta Falcons Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

The Associated Press has announced their 2016 NFL All-Pro team, selected by a national panel of 50 media members. The teams include three rookies, three first-time first teamers, and zero Bengals players on the first or second team. Only 14 of the 32 NFL teams are represented in the AP’s All-Pro team.

The three rookies include Ezekiel Elliott, Tyreek Hill and Jack Conklin. The other first timers include Matt Ryan, Von Miller, David Johnson, Travis Kelce, Vic Beasley, Sean Lee, Matthew Slater, Damon Harris, Marcus Peters, Zack Martin, Travis Frederick, Kelechi Osemele, Aqib Talib, Landon Collins and Damon Harrison.

If there is no second-team selection for a position, it’s because the first-team decision was unanimous. Changes to this year’s All-Pro voting include the addition of specific positions on the offensive line, a flex player on offense, a fifth defensive back, and a punt returner and special teamer.

Last year, Bengals defensive tackle Geno Atkins and offensive tackle Andrew Whitworth made the Associated Press' 2015 First Team All Pro roster and safety Reggie Nelson made the list with Second Team recognition. After a 6-9-1 season, it’s not too surprising that no Bengals made the list, though you could argue Atkins and A.J. Green deserved it. If Green hadn’t suffered a season-ending hamstring injury in Week 11, he likely would have made the list.

A few Bengals did receive votes, but not enough to come close to earning a spot on the AP All-Pro team.

  • Andrew Whitworth, 1 vote
  • Kevin Zeitler, 1 vote
  • Geno Atkins, 5 votes


Quarterback: Matt Ryan, Atlanta

Running Back: Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas

Flex: David Johnson, Arizona

Tight End: Travis Kelce, Kansas City

Wide Receivers: Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh; Julio Jones, Atlanta

Left Tackle: Tyron Smith, Dallas

Right Tackle: Jack Conklin, Tennessee

Left Guard: Kelechi Osemele, Oakland

Right Guard: Zack Martin, Dallas

Center: Travis Frederick, Dallas


Edge Rushers: Khalil Mack, Oakland; Vic Beasley Jr., Atlanta

Interior Linemen: Aaron Donald, Los Angeles; Damon Harrison, New York Giants

Linebackers: Von Miller, Denver; Bobby Wagner, Seattle; Sean Lee, Dallas

Cornerbacks: Aqib Talib, Denver; Marcus Peters, Kansas City

Safeties: Landon Collins, New York Giants; Eric Berry, Kansas City

Defensive Back: Chris Harris Jr., Denver


Placekicker: Justin Tucker, Baltimore

Punter: Johnny Hekker, Los Angeles

Kick Returner: Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota

Punt Returner: Tyreek Hill, Kansas City

Special Teamer: Matthew Slater, New England


Quarterback: Tom Brady, New England

Running Back: David Johnson, Arizona

Flex: Le'Veon Bell, Pittsburgh

Tight End: Greg Olsen, Carolina

Wide Receivers: Odell Beckham Jr., New York Giants; Mike Evans, Tampa Bay

Left Tackle: David Bakhtiari, Green Bay

Right Tackle: Mitchell Schwartz, Kansas City, and Marcus Cannon, New England

Left Guard: Marshal Yanda, Baltimore

Right Guard: David DeCastro, Pittsburgh

Center: Alex Mack, Atlanta


Edge Rushers: Jadeveon Clowney, Houston; Cameron Wake, Miami, Olivier Vernon, New York Giants, and Brandon Graham, Philadelphia

Interior Linemen: Ndamukong Suh, Miami; Calais Campbell, Arizona, and Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay

Linebackers: Lorenzo Alexander, Buffalo; Luke Kuechly, Carolina; Lavonte David, Tampa Bay, C.J. Mosley, Baltimore, Zach Brown, Buffalo, Zachary Orr, Baltimore, Alec Ogletree, Los Angeles, Dont'a Hightower, New England, Whitney Mercilus, Houston, and Benardrick McKinney, Houston

Cornerbacks: Janoris Jenkins, New York Giants; Casey Hayward, San Diego, and Malcolm Butler, New England

Safeties: Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Green Bay; Devin McCourty, New England.

Defensive Back: Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie, New York Giants


Placekicker: None.

Punter: Marquette King, Oakland

Kick Returner: Tyler Lockett, Seattle

Punt Returner: None.

Special Teamer: Nate Ebner, New England