clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

David Fulcher among former Bengals on College Football Hall of Fame ballot

David Fulcher was a stud in college and in the NFL.

David Fulcher

The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame have announced the names on the 2018 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. The list includes 75 players and six coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 98 players and 31 coaches from the divisional ranks.

As you can imagine, with that many players there are bound to be some former Cincinnati Bengals. In fact, the list features one of the franchise’s greatest in defensive back David Fulcher (Arizona State). Other former Bengals making the ballot are Rickey Dixon (Oklahoma), Ashley Ambrose (Mississippi Valley State) and linebacker Bill Bergey (Arkansas State).

Fulcher played for Arizona State University, while being one of the best defenders in college football. He was twice named a First-Team All-American while earning consensus honors in both 1984 and 1985. He recorded 14 interceptions and 286 tackles in his career.

Then in the NFL with the Bengals (1986-92) and Los Angeles Raiders (1993), Fulcher was a three-time Pro Bowl selection for the Bengals (1988, 1989, 1990). He was a First-Team All-Pro in 1989 and Second-Team All-Pro in 1990. Fulcher was also on the last Bengals Super Bowl team in 1988.

Dixon, a 1987 consensus First-Team All-American and winner of the 1987 Jim Thorpe Award with Oklahoma, was a two-time First-Team All-Big Eight selection and member of 1985 National Championship team. He finished career as school leader in single-season interceptions with nine and ranked second all-time with 17 career interceptions. Dixon then went on to play for the Bengals as a reserve defensive back in 73 games while registering six interceptions from 1988-1992.

Ambrose, a star defensive back at Mississippi Valley State, was a First Team All-American and First Team All-SWAC selection in 1991. He was named SWAC Defensive Back and Return Specialist of the Year in 1991 after leading the nation in punt returns during his senior campaign.

Ambrose went on to enjoy a 13-year NFL career, three of which with the Bengals from 1996-1998. He became a full-time starting corner and racked up 13 interceptions during that span, including eight during the 1996 season.

Bergey, a standout backer at Arkansas State, was a 1968 First-Team All-American. He racked up 436 career tackles, which ranks second all-time in program history. Bergey was drafted by the Bengals in the second round of the 1969 Common Draft and was an AFL All-Star in his first year. Bergey started for the Bengals for five years and finished with nine interceptions and six fumble recoveries over 68 games before leaving to play for the Philadelphia Eagles.

The announcement of the 2018 Class will be made Monday, Jan. 8, 2018, in Atlanta. The city is serving as the host for the CFP National Championship, which will be played later that day at Mercedes-Benz Stadium.