clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Latest NFL MVP odds include Andy Dalton and A.J. Green

The Bengals will need to have a major resurgence to have an MVP candidate in 2018.

NFL: Pittsburgh Steelers at Cincinnati Bengals David Kohl-USA TODAY Sports

Can a Bengals player win NFL MVP in 2018?

It’s highly unlikely, at least if you’re going off the latest odds from Bovada. Their latest odds to win NFL MVP next season has a pair of Bengals coming in with 100-1 odds in A.J. Green and Andy Dalton.

While it seems like a major longshot, Dalton has actually played at an MVP level before. Back in 2015, he was actually in contention for the award before going down with a season-ending thumb injury. He probably wasn’t going to beat out Cam Newton or Tom Brady for the award, but he had a real chance of getting the second or third-most votes.

But that season feels like a distant memory now. Dalton has regressed in each of the past two seasons, as he’s committed 27 turnovers since 2016 after committing just nine in 2015. His completion percentage has also lowered in each of the past two seasons, while the Bengals have gone 13-18-1 during that span.

As for Green, he’s annually been one of the game’s best receivers, but he’s never been able to win a receiving title in yards, receptions or touchdowns. For a receiver to win MVP, he probably needs to league the league in all three categories, or at least two of the three.

Green, who is entering his eighth NFL season, finished 2017 with 75 catches for 1,078 yards and eight touchdowns. By Green’s standards it was a down year. According to Pro Football Focus, Green posted career lows in yards per route run (2.1), catch rate (56.0), and yards per game (67.4) last season.

A big reason for that was the offensive line and the offense in general being a disaster. If the Bengals can get back to an offense resembling more of that 2015 unit, perhaps Green can make a run at the MVP award.

Here are the top of the odds:

  • Aaron Rodgers: 13/2
  • Tom Brady: 7/1
  • Carson Wentz: 19/2
  • Drew Brees: 15/1
  • Russell Wilson: 15/1
  • Jimmy Garoppolo: 20/1
  • Cam Newton: 20/1
  • Matt Ryan: 20/1
  • Deshaun Watson: 20/1
  • Kirk Cousins: 22/1
  • Jared Goff: 22/1
  • Philip Rivers: 22/1
  • Ben Roethlisberger: 25/1
  • Derek Carr: 28/1
  • Andrew Luck: 30/1
  • Dak Prescott: 30/1
  • Matthew Stafford: 30/1
  • Le’Veon Bell: 40/1
  • Todd Gurley: 40/1
  • David Johnson: 40/1
  • Marcus Mariota: 40/1
  • Antonio Brown: 50/1
  • Ezekiel Elliott: 50/1
  • Case Keenum: 50/1
  • Eli Manning: 50/1
  • Jameis Winston: 50/1
  • Patrick Mahomes: 55/1
  • Saquon Barkley: 60/1
  • Leonard Fournette: 60/1
  • Kareem Hunt: 60/1
  • LeSean McCoy: 60/1
  • Alex Smith: 60/1
  • Blake Bortles: 66/1
  • Alvin Kamara: 66/1
  • Julio Jones: 70/1
  • Joe Flacco: 75/1
  • Mitch Trubisky: 90/1
  • Andy Dalton: 100/1
  • A.J. Green: 100/1
  • Devonta Freeman: 100/1
  • Rob Gronkowski: 100/1
  • DeAndre Hopkins: 100/1
  • J.J. Watt: 100/1
  • Sam Bradford: 125/1
  • Nick Foles: 125/1
  • Tyrod Taylor: 125/1