clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL cuts 2018: Cincinnati Bengals’ 53-man roster

The Bengals have announced their initial 53-man roster for the 2018 NFL season. Expect this to change in the lead up to Week 1.

NFL: Pittsburgh Steelers at Cincinnati Bengals David Kohl-USA TODAY Sports

The Cincinnati Bengals have announced the initial 53-man roster with the NFL regular season just days away.

It’s been a long and grueling process, but the team has finally gotten its roster down from having 90 men at one point this offseason to now just 53 players.

The Bengals will now begin trying to construct an 11 man practice squad with players who were cut by the team, as well as potentially some players who were cut by other teams. The practice squad can be formed no sooner than by 1:00 p.m. ET on Sunday, September 2. The waiver wire runs from 4:00 p.m. ET on Saturday through 12:00 p.m. ET on Sunday.

The Bengals may also look to the waiver wire for potential additions to the 53-man roster.

There are some players on this list who will not be around come Monday. That could include Cody Core and Davontae Harris who may go on IR with the potential to be brought back. Michael Johnson is the biggest surprise cut, though he’s far from the only surprise. Matt Barkley has been placed on season-ending Injured/Reserve.

Without further ado, here is the Bengals’ 2018 53-man roster...

Quarterback (2):

Andy Dalton

Jeff Driskel

Running back/halfback (4):

Giovani Bernard

Joe Mixon

Mark Walton

Tra Carson

Wide receiver (7):

A.J. Green

Tyler Boyd

John Ross

Josh Malone

Alex Erickson

Auden Tate

Cody Core

Tight end (4):

Tyler Eifert

Tyler Kroft

C.J. Uzomah

Mason Schreck

Offensive tackle (4):

Cordy Glenn

Bobby Hart

Cedric Ogbuehi

Jake Fisher

Offensive guard (4):

Clint Boling

Trey Hopkins

Christian Westerman

Alex Redmond

Center (1):

Billy Price

Linebacker (6):

Preston Brown

Nick Vigil

Vincent Rey

Jordan Evans

Malik Jefferson

Hardy Nickerson Jr.

*Suspended: Vontaze Burfict

Cornerback (6):

Dre Kirkpatrick

Darqueze Dennard

William Jackson III

Darius Phillips

Tony McRae

Davontae Harris

Safety (4):

Jessie Bates

Shawn Williams

Clayton Fejedelem

Brandon Wilson

Defensive end (4):

Carlos Dunlap

Carl Lawson

Jordan Willis

Sam Hubbard

Defensive tackle (4):

Geno Atkins

Andrew Billings

Ryan Glasgow

Josh Tupou

Punter (1):

Kevin Huber

Kicker (1):

Randy Bullock

Long snapper (1):

Clark Harris

*Suspended players do not count toward the 53-man roster. Burfict will be eligible to join the 53-man roster on Monday, Oct. 1. A corresponding roster move will be required for Cincinnati to have Burfict join the roster.

Roster cuts:

LB Brandon Bell (first-year player, Penn State)

S Tyrice Beverette (rookie, Stony Brook)

TE Moritz Böhringer (first-year player, Aalen [Germany])

WR Devonte Boyd (rookie, Nevada-Las Vegas)

DT Andrew Brown (rookie, Virginia)

K Jonathan Brown (first-year player, Louisville)

HB Quinton Flowers (rookie, South Florida)

H-B Jordan Franks (rookie, Central Florida)

CB C.J. Goodwin (third-player, California [Pa.])

HB Brian Hill (second-year player, Wyoming)

LB Junior Joseph (rookie, Connecticut)

C Brad Lundblade (rookie, Oklahoma State)

WR Jared Murphy (rookie, Miami [Ohio])

OT Justin Murray (first-year player, Cincinnati)

DT Chris Okoye (rookie, Ferris State; injured, may revert to Reserve/Injured)

OT Kent Perkins (first-year player, Texas)

DT Simeyon Robinson (rookie, James Madison)

WR Kayaune Ross (rookie, Kentucky)

CB KeiVarae Russell (third-year player, Notre Dame)

S Josh Shaw (fourth-year player, Southern California; injured, may revert to Reserve/Injured)

WR Ka’Raun White (rookie, West Virginia)

WR Kermit Whitfield (first-year player, Florida State)

DT Eddy Wilson (rookie, Purdue)

QB Logan Woodside (rookie, Toledo)

LB Chris Worley (rookie, Ohio State)

H-B Ryan Hewitt (fifth-year player, Stanford)

DE Michael Johnson (10th-year player, Georgia Tech)

C T.J. Johnson (fifth-year player, South Carolina)


TE Cethan Carter

OL Rod Taylor

QB Matt Barkley

S Trayvon Henderson