clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bengals set to retain all of their primary coordinators

Hopefully the continuity helps the Bengals have brighter days in 2020.

Cincinnati Bengals v Miami Dolphins Photo by Mark Brown/Getty Images

The Bengals are embarking on the first full offseason under head coach Zac Taylor, and don’t expect any major changes to be made.

The Bengals just signed special teams coordinator Darrin Simmons to an extension, while offensive coordinator Brian Callahan and defensive coordinator Lou Anarumo are still under contract.

And as Geoff Hobson at writes, it sounds like the Bengals will retain their three primary coordinators and not have any roles changed.

For what looks to be the first time since 2015, the Bengals are poised to begin and end back-to-back seasons with the same three coordinators. Head coach Zac Taylor won’t announce changes until his staff is completed, but indications are there isn’t going to be shuffling above the level of position coaches or quality control.

While the offense was a trainwreck for much of the season, it’s hard to put too much blame on Callahan. While he is the team’s offensive coordinator, it’s Zac Taylor who primarily calls the plays, so Callahan can only shoulder so much blame for a unit that finished 26th in total offense and 30th in points per game.

As for Anarumo, he deserves more heat for how badly the defense performed for much of the season. While there were certainly bright spots, his unit could never find any real consistency, as they finished 29th in total defense, 25th in scoring defense and dead last in rushing defense. They also allowed 31.7 points per game over the last three games, which would have ranked dead last over the entire season.

Hopefully, Anarumo and Callahan can make the necessary adjustments in 2020 to have their units performing at a higher level. After all, they were both first-time coordinators in 2019, so hopefully a full offseason will help them learn how to get their respective units to thrive in 2020.