clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bengals captains announced

Joe Burrow and A.J. Green lead the way for the 2020 Bengals captains.

Cincinnati Bengals Training Camp Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images

The Cincinnati Bengals have announced their 2020 team captains. They are as follows:

  • S Vonn Bell
  • RB Giovani Bernard
  • QB Joe Burrow
  • LB Josh Bynes
  • WR A.J. Green
  • P Kevin Huber
  • S Shawn Williams

Giovani Bernard, A.J. Green, Shawn Williams and Kevin Huber have all been captains in previous seasons. This really speaks to how much respect Williams and Bernard have in the locker room since neither are projected starters on the team’s first depth chart.

Of the captains, three are new to the organization, highlighted by Joe Burrow, who was selected No. 1 overall in the 2020 NFL Draft. The fact he was named a captain as a rookie is a great sign for how much his teammates are already sold on him being the face of this franchise moving forward.

Vonn Bell and Josh Bynes were free agent additions this offseason. Both players were also listed as starters on the first depth chart.