clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bengals announce Ken Anderson, Ken Riley as inaugural Ring of Honor inductees

Anderson and Riley round out Cincinnati’s first Ring of Honor class.

The Cincinnati Bengals’ first-ever Ring of Honor class has been finalized.

Ken Anderson and Ken Riley will join automatic inductees Anthony Munoz and Paul Brown in the team’s inaugural class. Season ticket holders voted in Anderson and Riley from a ballot that featured 17 former Bengals.

“We have a long history of players, many of them great players. Ken Anderson and Ken Riley are at the top of that list of great players,” said Bengals owner Mike Brown. “They were the type of players that we like to think our team is all about. I am pleased they are the top picks of the fans.”

Anderson made four Pro Bowls in his 16-year Bengals career. In his first Pro Bowl season in 1975, he won the NFL Man of the Year award. In route to leading the Bengals to their first Super Bowl appearance in 1981, he was a first-team All-Pro and the MVP as the league’s passing leader. He is one of five players in NFL history to win at least four league passing titles.

Riley was a first-team All-Pro selection in his 15th and final year in Cincinnati in 1983. He recorded eight of his 65 career interceptions that season, and his 65 career picks are still fifth all-time in NFL history. No other Bengals defender has played in more career games (207) and seasons (15).

The Bengals Ring of Honor, announced back in April, will be displayed on the East facade inside Paul Brown Stadium and live on Bengals digital channels. Along with Munoz and Brown, Anderson and Riley will be officially inducted during the Bengals’ Week 4 matchup against the Jacksonville Jaguars on September 30th.