clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Bengals Season Awards: Special Teams Player Of The Year

We begin to wind down the 2013 Bengals season awards with the nominees for the Special Teams Player of the Year.

Matthew Stockman

There are a few of the Bengals 2013 season awards that seem to be easy selections for those of us at Cincy Jungle. We felt that way with the Rookie of the Year award and the group had another unanimous decision for the next award on the list--Special Teams Player of the Year.

Even though he missed the regular season finale and playoff game because of a fractured jaw and cracked vertebrae, we all went with Bengals punter Kevin Huber as the star of the special teams unit. He had a career-long 75-yarder this season, a career-low 6.1% touchback percentage, as well as a respectable 36.4% inside-the-20 percentage. All of this while averaging over 45 yards-per-punt.

Though the Huber pick was a unanimous one for the eight of us at CJ, there were still some players on the unit that performed well. Linebacker Jayson DiManche, alongside defensive backs Dre Kirkpatrick and Shawn Williams were amongst the leaders in special teams tackles on the season. And, though Mike Nugent's kicking opportunities were limited at times, he still hit 18 of 22 tries, including two game-winners on the road against Detroit and Buffalo.