clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

PFWA NFL 2014 All-Rookie Team Announced

The Pro Football Writers of America released their squad for the NFL All-Rookie Team on Tuesday, including their awards for Rookies of the Year.

Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

As the end of the 2014 NFL season comes into view, the accolades from the achievements by players begin to roll in. Though League MVP and others have yet to be decided, one recent list was doled out on Tuesday by the Pro Football Writers of America.

Every year, the PFWA gives a tip of the cap to that year's rookies and creates an All-Star squad comprised of the youngsters as a kudos to each of their respective seasons. The 2014 All-Rookie Team predictably has Bengals running back Jeremy Hill on the squad, after an impressive second half of the season. Cincinnati's rookie running back from last year, Giovani Bernard, made the 2013 All-Rookie Team.

Per Josh Kirkendall's recent breakdown of the running back position here in The Queen City, Hill accomplished quite a bit in his first season and racked up the second-most rushing yards in franchise history by a rookie (1,124). Perhaps the most impressive stat from Hill on the season were his four 140-plus-yard rushing performances as a rookie, putting him in the company of just Curtis Martin and Eric Dickerson. Hill answered the bell once the Bengals leaned on him more (be it because of injuries or an overall increase in workload), gaining 929 rushing yards in the final nine weeks of the season.

New York Giants wide receiver Odell Beckham, Jr. was the PFWA choice for NFL Rookie of the Year (as well as OROY), while defensive tackle Aaron Donald of the St. Louis Rams was named as the Defensive Rookie of the Year. Beckham took the league by storm after missing four games, generating 91 catches for 1,305 yards and 12 touchdowns. Donald, channeling his inner-Geno Atkins, racked up nine sacks as an interior lineman.

Here is the entire PFWA All-Rookie Team, as announced on Tuesday in their press release:



QB – Teddy Bridgewater, Minnesota Vikings

RB – Jeremy Hill, Cincinnati Bengals; Tre Mason, St. Louis Rams

WR – Odell Beckham Jr., New York Giants; Mike Evans, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

TE – Jace Amaro, New York Jets

C – Corey Linsley, Green Bay Packers

G – Joel Bitonio, Cleveland Browns; Zach Martin, Dallas Cowboys

T – Taylor Lewan, Tennessee Titans; Ja’Wuan James, Miami Dolphins


DL – Aaron Donald, St. Louis Rams; Timmy Jernigan, Baltimore Ravens; Kony Ealy, Carolina Panthers; Justin Ellis, Oakland Raiders

LB – Chris Borland, San Francisco 49ers; Khalil Mack, Oakland Raiders; C.J. Mosley, Baltimore Ravens

CB – Kyle Fuller, Chicago Bears; E.J. Gaines, St. Louis Rams

S – Deone Bucannon, Arizona Cardinals; Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Green Bay Packers

Special Teams

PK – Cody Parkey, Philadelphia Eagles

P – Pat O’Donnell, Chicago Bears

KR – Jarvis Landry, Miami Dolphins

PR – De’Anthony Thomas, Kansas City Chiefs

ST – Trey Burton, Philadelphia Eagles