clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bengals 2018 season awards: Cincinnati’s list of winners

We asked you for your votes on the best from the Cincinnati Bengals and have tallied the results.

Cincinnati Bengals v Cleveland Browns Photo by Jason Miller/Getty Images

We asked our readers for their votes on the best of the best from the Bengals’ 2018 season. The votes have been tabulated and the results are in! Here are the winners of each of our annual awards!

Team Most Valuable Player: Joe Mixon; 57% of votes

While Tyler Boyd and Geno Atkins had great statistical seasons for the Cincinnati Bengals, it was Mixon who was deemed the team’s best player of 2018.

Offensive Most Valuable Player: Joe Mixon; 66% of votes

The second-year running back led the AFC in rushing yardage, despite up-and-down play from the offensive line and his missing of two games with a knee injury.

Defensive Most Valuable Player: Geno Atkins; 52% of votes

The key to the Bengals’ defense had an outstanding season and ran away with this award.

Special Teams Most Valuable Player: Alex Erickson; 71% of votes

The versatile receiver was the second-highest netting player on kickoff returns in many notable ways this season.

Rookie of the Year: Jessie Bates; 77% of votes

The team’s second-round pick was first on the team with total tackles with 111 and second with three interceptions in 2018.

Victory of the Year: Week 4 versus Falcons; 67% of votes

Cincinnati’s thrilling comeback win was voted as the best of the season. The Bengals out-dueled the Falcons on their home turf, 37-36.

Offensive Play of the Year: A.J. Green’s 13-yard, game-winning touchdown reception versus Atlanta; 58% of votes

While the net yardage wasn’t huge, Green and Andy Dalton connected for one of the most dramatic plays in their respective careers.

Defensive Play of the Year: Clayton Fejedelem’s forced fumble and recovery versus Colts; 43% of votes

The backup safety shot the Bengals’ season off with a bang, as he hit the trifecta on defense to seal the win against Indianapolis.

Most Improved Player: Tyler Boyd; 71% of votes

The team’s No. 2 receiver made a gigantic leap from 2018, cracking the 1,000-yard receiving mark for the first time.

Unsung Hero of the Year: Clayton Fejedelem; 27% of votes

This one was incredibly close, as Trey Hopkins was beat out in the category by one percent.

Trench Player of the Year: Geno Atkins; 58% of votes

The big defensive tackle had yet another season with double-digit sacks (10), while making his seventh Pro Bowl.

Coach of the Year: Robert Livingston; 31% of votes

Both Bates and Shawn Williams had breakout seasons as the starting safeties. They combined for eight interceptions, two pick-sixes and 221 total tackles, while Clayton Fejedelem also contributed.

Thanks for your participation!