clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bengals Named Their Six Captains For 2014 Season

The Cincinnati Bengals players voted for their captains in the 2014 season... and the list is the least surprising thing since humans learned that we breath oxygen.

Christian Petersen

The Cincinnati Bengals picked their captains this week. It's not a complicated nor surprising list -- when you see it, you realize that they are the proper selections.

Offensive tackle Andrew Whitworth and quarterback Andy Dalton will captain the offense again. Defensive tackle Domata Peko will join first-time captain Vontaze Burfict. Cedric Peerman and Vincent Rey are the special teams captains. See, no surprises here.

Peko, who points out is one of the top tackling defensive tackles since 2011, just feels honored.

"All that matters is what the people inside these four walls think of me," Peko said. "It’s a huge honor."

"Any time you get that respect from your teammates and they look to you in that way for leadership, it’s a tremendous honor," said Whitworth, who has been a captain for the past six seasons. "But with it comes a lot of responsibility and we won’t take that lightly."

Whitworth and Peko actually makes the most sense. When the NFL locked out their players in 2011, it was Whitworth and Peko who organized player-only workouts during the offseason. Burfict and Dalton make sense as well, largely because they are the quarterbacks of their respective units.