clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bengals sign six practice squad players to Reserve/Future contracts

The Cincinnati Bengals are transitioning to the offseason and that includes finding a home for their practice squad players, while building up their roster for the 90-man offseason maximum.

Tom Pennington

The Cincinnati Bengals have announced that they've signed six players to Reserve/Future contracts on Monday. A Reserve/Future deal translates to players that will eventually be placed on Cincinnati's active roster once the limit, currently set at 53 players, is expanded on the Monday following the Super Bowl.

The team signed wide receiver Cobi Hamilton, center T.J. Johnson, defensive end David King, cornerback Onterio McCalebb, linebacker Bruce Taylor and center Scott Wedige, all of whom were on Cincinnati's practice squad when the 2013 season ended.

Safety Tony Dye and quarterback McElroy were the only players that didn't transfer from the practice squad as of Monday. But they can sign at any point.

Cincinnati signed defensive back Brandon Burton, defensive tackle Zach Minter and place kicking punter specialist Quinn Sharp last week, also to Reserve/Future contracts.

If we include the 12 players on Injured Reserve, Monday's signing will put Cincinnati's roster to 83 players on Feb. 3, when the nine Future/Reserve players are activated. The offseason maximum is 90.