clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Willie Anderson misses cut as semi-finalist for the 2014 class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame

Former Cincinnati Bengals offensive tackle Willie Anderson missed the cut as the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced their 25-member semi-finalists on Wednesday.

Matthew Emmons-US PRESSWIRE

Two months ago, former Cincinnati Bengals offensive tackle Willie Anderson became a first-year candidate for the 2014 class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Unfortunately, Anderson didn't make the cut as a semi-finalist that was announced Wednesday night. Anderson tweeted out congratulations to the 25 candidates that passed through to the next round.

Anderson is one of only two players in Bengals history to earn First-Team All-Pro awards three times or more -- and that "other" player was Hall of Fame offensive tackle Anthony Munoz.

The semifinalists, in alphabetical order:

  • Morten Andersen, PK
  • Steve Atwater, S
  • Jerome Bettis, RB
  • Derrick Brooks, LB
  • Tim Brown, WR-KR
  • Don Coryell, Coach
  • Roger Craig, RB
  • Terrell Davis, RB
  • Edward DeBartolo Jr., Owner
  • Tony Dungy, Coach
  • Kevin Greene, LB-DE
  • Charles Haley, DE-LB
  • Marvin Harrison, WR
  • Joe Jacoby, OT
  • Jimmy Johnson, Coach
  • Walter Jones, OT
  • John Lynch, S
  • Karl Mecklenburg, LB
  • Andre Reed, WR
  • Will Shields, G
  • Michael Strahan, DE
  • Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner
  • Aeneas Williams, CB-S
  • Steve Wisniewski, G
  • George Young, Contributor